The Box

I read something a few days ago that has stuck with…. I can’t remember where I read it, but the words are what are important. “Stepping outside of your comfort zone can be scary, hard, even terrifying, but it can also be beautiful, enlightening, and the one thing that catapults you to your most terrific endeavor. Boxing yourself in only holds you back from all of the experiences you were meant to live. ”

When things have been a certain way for so long, it can be hard to see the present or the future without bits of the past sneaking up. Trying new things, no matter how small, can be terrifying. The fact that your self-esteem has been shot for so long, holds you back. Doubt creeps in. You want to do what you know, stay in your comfort zone. So many days it is like that for me. I want to jump back into my box. It’s the easy thing to do. But that box can be so dark, so lonely, and so hard to get out of once you get back in.

Life outside of that box means living in the moment. It means taking steps to becoming yourself. It means believing in yourself. It means feeling the love you are given. It means truly knowing that you are loved. It means working towards your dreams. It means having a voice. It means beautiful experiences with beautiful people. It means not letting your past dictate your future. At least, that is what it means for me.

It’s not easy starting over. It’s not easy reconditioning yourself. Change is never easy, but it is necessary. It is necessary if you want to live outside of the box. I have a lot of work to do, and there are many things I still need to work on every single day. Sometimes I may need a push, a hard push out of my comfort zone….Thankfully, I have people in my life who push me, who help me, and who won’t allow me to hide inside of that box any longer. With each passing day, even with setbacks and steps backward, there are leaps forward, hills jumped, and mountains climbed.

Author: melissasheart

I started writing years ago just to get my thoughts out of my head and onto paper. This past June, at the age of 38, I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. This has been a journey that has changed my life. I want to give others hope and encouragement, yet be vulnerable and real about my life. I have been blessed in so many ways and I just want to give a small token of that back. ~~While undergoing chemo treatments i started making jewelry. Then I opened an etsy shop. I have used this as a way to give back a portion of the blessings I have received. With every purchase made I donate a bracelet to a woman going through chemo~~

Leave a comment