He ran to his son…

God laid on my heart the story of the prodigal son or the lost son. The son took his inheritance early, left his father, squandered all the money in wild living, then ended up with nothing. And I mean nothing, he was in the sloth cages with the pigs, ready to eat their food. He finally came to his senses and decided to go home, not home to be his father’s son but his servant. After all he had done, he felt unworthy to be anything but a servant and he was not sure if his father would forgive him.

Oh but a father’s love 💘. Luke 15:20 says, “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him”. His father welcomed him home just like that, no questions asked. Isn’t that what God does for us. For me personally I cannot count the times He has welcomed me with open arms. We go astray and He is standing there waiting for us. And when we come back He RUNS to us and holds us and comforts us.

Since COVID I had gotten really complacent. I would watch Sunday school services on Facebook here and there, a few church services here and there, picked up my Bible a few times, prayed very little. I let my relationship with Jesus fall by the waist side, put it on the back burner. But let me tell you about my Jesus. On June 15th I was diagnosed with breast cancer. That week was a whirlwind and the scariest week of my life. I knew I couldn’t do this on my own. I cried out to Jesus and He was standing right there, arms opened wide. Since that moment the peace I have felt has been unbelievable. Yes there are moments when my emotions get the best of me but I don’t dwell there for Jesus is my comforter.

He runs after us…His arms are open and ready to hold us…to forgive us…to love us. No matter what we do or how long we stay away, He is right there waiting for us.

Author: melissasheart

I started writing years ago just to get my thoughts out of my head and onto paper. This past June, at the age of 38, I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. This has been a journey that has changed my life. I want to give others hope and encouragement, yet be vulnerable and real about my life. I have been blessed in so many ways and I just want to give a small token of that back. ~~While undergoing chemo treatments i started making jewelry. Then I opened an etsy shop. I have used this as a way to give back a portion of the blessings I have received. With every purchase made I donate a bracelet to a woman going through chemo~~

Leave a comment